Computer Science Programs Receive Accreditation

The Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science has received notification of the initial accreditation for two of its undergraduate degree programs: The Bachelor of Science in Computer Science was accredited by the Computing Accreditation Commission of ABET, and the Bachelor of Science in Computer Engineering was accredited by the Engineering Accreditation Commission of ABET.

ABET is the global accreditor of university programs in
applied and natural science, computing, engineering and engineering
technology.  Accreditation verifies that
a college or university program meets the quality standards of the profession
for which it prepares graduates.

“We have always believed in the strength of our curriculum,” said Dr. Krishnan Pillaipakkamnatt, chair of the Department of Computer Science.   “Obtaining ABET’s stamp of accreditation further validates the quality of our programs. Our students and alumni can be justifiably proud of their academic credentials.”

The accreditation process involved a comprehensive self-study report that was evaluated by an ABET review team and based on eight criteria – student performance, educational objectives, student outcomes, established processes for evaluating student performance, quality of the curriculum, faculty expertise, labs and facilities and institutional support.

Assessment data was
collected over the course of two years and the entire accreditation process
took three years to complete.

To learn more about
the Fred DeMatteis School engineering and computer science programs, visit

Computer Science

Google It!

Computer Science Student Gets Residency at Internet Giant Computer science major Christopher Davie ’17, knows where he’s headed after graduation: to...

Cyberwar Career Prep

Computer science students recently competed in a high-tech version of the classic playground game Capture the Flag – an exercise designed to help...

Hofstra University Sign

Hofstra Welcomes New Faculty

Hofstra University welcomes 42 new faculty members, including four to the Frank G. Zarb School of Business; three to the Fred DeMatteis School of...

Hofstra Mourns Dr. James Shuart

A Message from President Stuart Rabinowitz This morning, the University learned of the passing of Dr. James M. Shuart, our seventh president from...

Hofstra Welcomes New Faculty Members

Hofstra University welcomes 22 new faculty members, including five from the Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, School of Natural Sciences...

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News