Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs School of Education School of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics Undergraduate Research

HCLAS Students Honored for Excellence

Dean Benjamin Rifkin with his "HCLAStars".

Seniors from 24 departments and several interdisciplinary programs were recognized for outstanding achievement at the second annual Academic Excellence Awards presented by Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (HCLAS) on October 15.

Nominated by their chairpersons and professors, the student honorees received a certificate and a $100 gift.

“We come together as a community in October to honor outstanding students in each major,” said Dr. Benjamin Rifkin, HCLAS dean. “We cite each student’s accomplishments and recognize them together as a group from which we expect to see new discoveries in the arts, humanities, social and natural sciences, and education.”

Nominations consider each student’s academic accomplishments, as well as their contributions to their major department and the Hofstra community-at large.

“At a university with an average class size around 20, our faculty members know their students well,” said Dean Rifkin. “The students who are ultimately selected to receive the award are among the brightest ‘HCLAStars’ in our Hofstra Universe.”

The recipients of the 2019 HCLAS Academic Excellence Awards Celebration are:

School of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts

  • Alicia Brantigan, Dance Education
  • Vincent Coacci, Music
  • Samuel Falotico, Music
  • Landri Kennedy, Linguistics
  • Jasmine King, Painting
  • Cybele Laisney, English
  • Jenny Maldonado, Latin American and Caribbean Studies
  • Ellary Mischel, Spanish
  • Martha Morton, English
  • Jacqueline Sanger, Theater Arts
  • Emma Trombetta, Linguistics and Economics

Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy, and International Affairs

  • Sara Bornstein, Political Science
  • Harrison Boyd, Philosophy
  • Sarah Dowd, Anthropology
  • Athina Giouvalakis, Economics
  • Imani Hinson, History
  • Ryan Katz, Political Science
  • Ryan Leighton, Global Studies
  • Catherine MacCarthy Public Policy
  • Manmeet Nijjer, Religion
  • Manmeet Nijjer, Criminology
  • Laura Masciullo, Mathematical Business Economics
  • Allie Richardson, History
  • Emma Rossetti, Geography
  • Madison Warfel, Sociology

School of Natural Science and Mathematics 

  • Eric Adsetts, Mathematics
  • Mike Chinbayar, Physics
  • Jacquelyn Ciarcia, Psychology
  • Madeline Currie, Biochemistry
  • Mathusa Lakuleswaran, Chemistry
  • Amanda Lastella, Psychology
  • Angela Rienzo, Geology
  • Katherine Rozek, Biology
  • Taylor Scutari, Biology
  • Briana Schmidt, Mathematics
  • Julia Shalov, Neuroscience
  • Samuel Wayne, Psychology

School of Education

  • Roel James, Early Childhood and Childhood Education
  • Dennis Morales, Social Studies Education
  • Christina Wegener, Physical Education

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News