Journalism Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Radio Social Media Student Life Videos WRHU

Student Media Win 15 Press Club Awards

Student journalists from the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication won 15 awards, including five first place finishes in both professional and collegiate categories, at the Press Club of Long Island’s (PCLI) annual media awards dinner on June 6, 2019.   Faculty and several alumni, now working at leading media outlets throughout the region, were also honored for their work in print, radio, video, and multimedia.

The Herbert School edged out professional outlets to win first place in the government/politics video category for “Hofstra Votes Live,” its first-ever, multiplatform, live Election Day broadcast last November, which involved more than 200 students, faculty and staff.  WRHU Radio Hofstra University 88.7 FM won 13 awards, including best college news broadcast and best student radio news story, and swept the best professional radio sports news and best student radio feature categories. The Hofstra Chronicle placed second in the student news story category.  

“We couldn’t be more proud of our students and their outstanding work,” said Mark Lukasiewicz, a longtime television news executive who joined Hofstra as dean of the Herbert School last July. “Our goal is to train a new generation of storytellers in all media, at a critical time for journalism. The award-winning work of these young writers and broadcasters demonstrates they are already making their mark on the world.”

Students also placed in other categories including arts and entertainment, government/politics-radio, and education reporting.  See the full list of winners.  

During the ceremony, held at Watermill Caterers in Smithtown, the Press Club also inducted three new members into its Hall of Fame for their contributions to local journalism: Newsday photographer J. Conrad Williams, News 12 anchor Carol Silva, and Pat Milton, an Associated Press reporter for 25 years on Long Island who is now a senior producer at CBS News. 

In addition, adjunct journalism professor Scott Brinton, executive editor of Herald Community Newspapers and PCLI president, won first place for column writing, second place for editorial writing, and second place for health coverage.  He was also part of the Herald reporting team that won the Robert W. Greene Public Service Award (small market).  Adjunct professor and 2007 alumnus Chris Vaccaro won first place in the sports feature category for his work on The Athletic website. 

The Press Club of Long Island is one of the largest local chapters of the Society for Professional Journalists, and works to preserve First Amendment rights, promote ethical standards in the profession, and provide training and networking opportunities for members. 

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News