Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy and International Affairs School of Education School of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

HCLAS Students Receive Inaugural Excellence Awards

The recipients of the inaugural HCLAS Academic Excellence Awards. Photo by Irini Tsounakas

Seniors from 23 departments and a variety of interdisciplinary programs were recognized for outstanding achievement at the inaugural Academic Excellence Awards presented by Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences (HCLAS) on October 2.

“These students are distinguished not only by their grade point averages, but by their extraordinary accomplishments in and out of the classroom,” said HCLAS Dean Benjamin Rifkin. “They have presented at national scholarly conferences, co-authored papers accepted for publication in scholarly journals, and performed on stages at Hofstra and elsewhere. They have served leadership positions on campus, engaged with community organizations, mentored their fellow students and participated in a broad range of student organizations. They are truly stars of the liberal arts at Hofstra.”

Nominated by their chairpersons and professors, 35 of the 42 student honorees were present to receive their award, which included a certificate and a $100 gift. After the ceremony in the Student Center Theater, the celebration moved to the Multipurpose Room.

The recipients of the 2018 HCLAS Academic Excellence Awards Celebration are:

School of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts

  • Nia Arrington-Seward, Rhetoric and Public Advocacy
  • Julian Donahue, Dance
  • Beck Galbraith, Linguistics
  • Abigail Hesselton, Music Education
  • Isaac Hoffman, Classics/Latin
  • Brandon Jurewicz, Spanish
  • Amanda Lastella, Painting
  • Caroline Orlando, Theater Arts
  • Julianna Pierdomenico, Music Theory/Composition
  • Sarah Robbins, English
  • Regina Volpe, English

Peter S. Kalikow School of Government, Public Policy, and International Affairs

  • Jonelle Butler, Criminology
  • Julianna Cirafesi, Global Studies
  • Kathryn Dee, Anthropology
  • Haritsa Halepas, Economics
  • Fatimah Mozawalla, Geography
  • Abby Normandin, Public Policy
  • Lois Paquette, History
  • Jacqueline Pollina, Philosophy
  • Sarah Robbins, Religion
  • Lauren Rolfe, Political Science
  • Jesse Ross, Sociology
  • Kat Smith, Women’s Studies
  • James Stead, History
  • Jacob Steier, Economics
  • Yurui Xie, Political Science

School of Natural Science and Mathematics 

  • Gabrielle Akers-Goodwin, Psychology
  • Brittany Bonasera, Psychology
  • Nicholas Bragman, Mathematics
  • Sukhjit Dhaliwal, Psychology, Neuroscience
  • Nicholas Gardyn, Pre-Medical Studies
  • Nicole Homburger, Forensic Science
  • Nandini Jhawar, Psychology
  • Piotr Laskawiec, Mathematics
  • Benjamin Lichy, Physics
  • Thomas Plitnick, Geology
  • Penelope Ramos, Biology
  • Mackenzie Stephens, Biology
  • Haley Tarbox, Biochemistry

School of Education

  • Irene Bachas, Early Childhood and Childhood Education
  • Jessica Herman, Social Studies Education

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News