Athletics Women's Soccer

Anderson Has SENIOR Class

Photographer: Philip Hinds

Hofstra University senior defender Madeline Anderson was named a candidate for the 2018 Women’s Soccer Senior CLASS Award, the organization announced today.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The candidate pool will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot.

Anderson, the 2017 Colonial Athletic Association Defensive Player of the Year, was named the 2018 CAA Co-Preseason Player of the Year and has helped the Pride to a 6-3 mark with CAA play starting tomorrow night. She has a goal and an assist this season. As a junior, Anderson helped lead Hofstra to the NCAA Tournament and anchored a defensive unit that recorded 11 shutouts. She was an All-East Region selection as well as an All-ECAC performer. She also earned academic recognition as a United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-American and United Soccer Coaches Scholar All-Region selection. Off the field, Anderson has taken part in Hofstra’s annual Shake-A-Rake program in which members of the Hofstra community pitch in to clean up the yards of elderly/disabled residents in the neighborhoods surrounding the campus as well as the One Love Foundation “Yards for Yeardley” campaign to raise awareness about relationship violence.

The full list of women’s soccer candidates are:

Madeline Anderson, Hofstra Lindsey Kutscher, CSUN
Julia Ashley, North Carolina Hailie Mace, UCLA
Franny Cerny, DePaul Kayla McCoy, Duke
Alana Cook, Stanford Taryn Miller, Montana
McKenzie Cook, Grand Canyon Katie Moller, North Dakota
Paige Culver, Kent State Paige Monaghan, Butler
Katie Day, Providence Emily Ogle, Penn State
Christine Etzel, Brown Madison Pogarch, Rutgers
Holly Fritz, Florida Gulf Coast Brielle Preece, Pepperdine
Katie Glenn, Texas Bianca St. Georges, West Virginia
Jennifer Hiddink, Air Force Kelli Swenson, Milwaukee
Julie James, Baylor Emma Tyrnauer, Loyola Marymount
Nomvula Kgoale, Louisiana Tech Vera Varis, UCF
Easther Mayi Kith, West Virginia Elizabeth Woerner, Memphis
Cece Kizer, Ole Miss Jessica Wollmann, Radford

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Women’s College Cup® championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News