Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences School of Education Specialized Programs in Education Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

Nominated by Northwell

Dr. Nicholas Hernandez (far left) with fellow Northwell Health clinicians

Dr. Nicholas Hernandez, MD, a graduate student in the School of Education who has done extensive international volunteer work, was a finalist for Northwell Health’s 2018 President’s Award for Physician of the Year.

Hernandez, a student in the Master of Science in Health Professions Pedagogy and Leadership (HPPL) program, was one of seven finalists for the prestigious annual award.

Dr. Hernandez, an in-patient physician at Plainview Hospital, was recognized for outstanding service in providing health care at a variety of locations in both Puerto Rico and Mexico. After Hurricane Maria in 2017, Dr. Hernandez spent two weeks caring for patients as part of a Northwell team assisting at the Caguas Hospital in San Pablo, Puerto Rico. He has also worked in numerous Red Cross ambulatory and urgent care centers in Jalisco, Mexico and at a nursing home and health center, Egida y Posada de Carida, in Juncos, Puerto Rico.

As a graduate student of Hofstra’s master’s program, Dr. Hernandez was able to apply his knowledge to his work in Puerto Rico, as well as his roles in other clinical settings.

“The HPPL program has served as an incredible opportunity and tool to expand my role as a clinical academic professional,” said Hernandez, who is also an assistant professor at the Donald and Barbara Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell. “My travels to Puerto Rico during the disaster relief efforts gave me the opportunity to apply my enhanced knowledge in teaching local, volunteer medical students during bedside rounds. It has been a rewarding experience and I look forward to other opportunities the Master in Science of HPPL will grant me going forward.”

Northwell Health’s Annual President’s Awards Program seeks to recognize Northwell team members who deliver exceptional work across five categories: Nurse of the Year, Physician of the Year, Leader of the Year, Teamwork, and Exceptional Patient/Customer Experience.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News