Athletics Baseball Colonial Athletic Association Community Service Cross Country Field Hockey Golf Hofstra Pride Club Men's Basketball Men's Lacrosse Men's Soccer Men's Tennis Soccer Softball Student-Athlete Advisory Committee Volleyball Women's Basketball Women's Cross Country Women's Lacrosse Women's Soccer Women's Tennis Wrestling

Hofstra Athletics Celebrates 2017-18

The Hofstra University Department of Athletics celebrated the 2017-18 academic year Monday night at the annual Hofstra Pride Student-Athlete Awards Banquet at David S. Mack Hall. The event was presented by the Hofstra Athletics Pride Club.
*Video of Award Winners*
*Photo Gallery*

Hofstra University President Stuart Rabinowitz and Hofstra Athletics Pride Club President Tony Perettine addressed those in attendance at the beginning of the night, while Vice President and Director of Athletics Jeffrey A. Hathaway closed the evening with remarks of his own. Amanda Seekamp(women’s lacrosse) and Mani Walcott (men’s soccer) spoke on behalf of the Class of 2018 after being selected to serve as the Senior Speakers. In addition, Cheryl and Michael Colleluori were in attendance to help present the Nick Colleluori Unsung Hero Awards and speak about Nick’s impact through the Headstrong Foundation.

The major award winners from the evening were:
Hofstra Pride Community Service Award: Dominique Luxardo, field hockey; Carys Swan, field hockey; Michael Hughes, wrestling
Nick Colleluori Unsung Hero Award: Michaela Transue, softball; Desure Buie, men’s basketball
Dr. Sylvia J. Giallombardo Award (Female Scholar-Athlete of the Year): Laura Masciullo, volleyball
Dr. James M. Shuart Award (Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year): Alan Hetherington, cross country
Dr. Nathalie J. Smith Award (Female Student-Athlete of the Year): Kristin Desmond, soccer
Howard “Howdy: Myers Award (Male Student-Athlete of the Year): Michael Hughes, wrestling

In addition, Outstanding Senior Awards were presented to:
Chris Weiss, baseball
Rokas Gustys, men’s basketball
Aleana Leon, women’s basketball
Alan Hetherington, men’s cross country
Jamie Kanner, women’s cross country
Carys Swan, field hockey
Sean Cavanaugh, men’s golf
Amanda Bigger, women’s golf
Jack Concannon, men’s lacrosse
Carlee Ancona, women’s lacrosse
Brittany Allocca, softball
Mani Walcott, men’s soccer
Rhian Cleverly, women’s soccer
Nick Silvestri, men’s tennis
Meheq Khokhar, women’s tennis
Doris Bogoje, volleyball
Michael Hughes, wrestling

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News