Faculty Grants, Publications & Recognitions Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Television

Dr. Dennis Mazzocco Wins 10th Emmy

Dennis Mazzocco, PhD, professor in the Department of Radio, Television, Film in the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication, was recognized this summer for his 10th career Emmy Award as well as his re-election to the national board of the Directors Guild of America (DGA).

His most recent Emmy honors his work as a stage manager on ABC’s Good Morning America during the 2016 season. He has won ten awards since 1981 from a career total of 21 nominations in sports, news, and daytime programming.

In June, Dr. Mazzocco was re-elected for a fifth consecutive term as an associate member of the DGA national board, where he is joined by notable film and television professionals including acclaimed directors Christopher Nolan, Steven Spielberg, and Michael Mann.  Dr. Mazzocco is the only known tenured professor with a doctorate to serve on the DGA national board.

Other notable achievements for Dr. Mazzocco in recent years include the DGA’s Franklin J. Schaffner Lifetime Achievement Award, as well as a George Foster Peabody Award for his contributions to the 23-hour ABC News documentary, 2000, which chronicled the new millennium around the world.

At the Herbert School, Dr. Mazzocco teaches undergraduate and graduate courses in producing, directing, writing, genres, documentary studies, and media aesthetics.


Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News