Alumni Board of Trustees DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science Frank G. Zarb School of Business Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Hofstra Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies Lawrence Herbert School of Communication School of Health Professions and Human Services Top Stories Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

Gala Honors Alan J. Bernon and Teachers of the Year

The 21st annual Hofstra University Gala on May 4, 2017, is honoring Alan J. Bernon ’76, Hofstra’s chairman of the Board of Trustees, senior advisor of Dairy Farmers of America and partner of Sequel Holdings, LP. Also to be honored are the 2016-17 Teachers of the Year, selected by current graduating students in each school.

Mr. Bernon’s involvement with the Hofstra community goes back more than four decades. He received a BBA in finance and economics from the University in 1976. He was named Alumnus of the Year in 1986 and was invited to join the Board of Trustees in 1990. Prior to joining the Board, Mr. Bernon served on the Hofstra University Advisory Board where he worked alongside alumni and members of the community to raise scholarship resources. In 1996 Mr. Bernon was honored with an Alumni Achievement Award for his career accomplishments and his dedication and commitment to the University. He was named among the Zarb School of Business top 100 MBA/BBA Business Graduates in 2011 and has served on the Dean’s Advisory Board since its inception.

Alan J. Bernon
Alan J. Bernon

Mr. Bernon is Senior Advisor of Dairy Farmers of America (DFA), the nation’s largest milk marketing cooperative and a leading dairy foods processor. Mr. Bernon provides oversight to DFA’s varied investments and joint ventures. In addition, he helps guide and support Mergers, Acquisitions and Joint Venture opportunities. He is a founding partner of Sequel Holdings, L.P., a Dallas based private equity firm and has served as an advisory partner and investor since its formation in 2002.

In addition to his business responsibilities, Mr. Bernon has spent the past three decades deeply involved in a variety of community and philanthropic organizations. He has served as a director of more than a dozen nonprofits benefitting education, youth services and medical research.

He is also on the Board of the Jewish Federation of Greater Dallas and is a National Board Member of Big Brothers Big Sisters of America. He has been the recipient of numerous awards recognizing his community service, including those given by the YMCA, the Lion’s Club, the Brain Tumor Society and was honored by Jewish Big Brothers Big Sisters Greater Boston for 25 years of service.

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Gail Simmons has announced the following recipients of the Teacher of the Year award for each school or college:

Herbie DiFonzo, JD, PhD, Professor of Law, Maurice A. Deane School of Law

Carole Ferrand, PhD, Professor, Speech-Language-Hearing Sciences Department, School of Health Professions and Human Services

David M. Henderson, MFA , Associate Professor, Drama/Dance Department, School of Humanities, Fine and Performing Arts, Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Carina Loscalzo, MS, Assistant Professor and Program Director, Physician Assistant Studies Department, Hofstra Northwell School of Graduate Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies

Joseph F. Peyronnin, MBA, Associate Professor, Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations Department, Lawrence Herbert School of Communication

Krishnan Pillaipakkamnatt, PhD, Professor, Computer Science Department, Fred DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science

Andrew Spieler, PhD, Professor, Finance Department, Frank G. Zarb School of Business

Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine (2 Recipients – First 100 weeks and Second 100 weeks)

  • Joanne Willey, PhD (First 100 weeks), Professor and Chair, Department of Science Education
  • Jill Rabin, MD (Second 100 weeks), Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology & Co-Director of the Advanced Clinical Experience (ACE) in Obstetrics and Gynecology

In addition to the Hofstra Gala, the Teachers of the Year will be recognized at their respective commencement exercises in May.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News