Journalism Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Radio Student Life WRHU

WRHU Wins 4 Awards in Statewide AP Contest

WRHU 88.7 FM Radio Hofstra University won four awards in the New York State Associated Press Association annual awards competition honoring the best in print, television and radio work in 2015:

  • The news team of Joe Corbisiero, Alyssa Duspiva, Tiffany Vellis, Joy Jones, Jazmine Gonzalez, and Justine Re won first place in the college competition for the Bill Leaf Memorial Award for Best Regularly Scheduled Local News Program for their coverage of Winter Storm Juno on WRHU’s daily “Newsline.”
  • Juliana Spano’17, WRHU programming director, placed first in the major market radio sports feature category for her story, “Long Island Roller Rebels.”
  • WRHU News Director Chris Dane’17 earned honorable mention for best use of sound in the major market radio category for his submission, “Comic Con.”
  • May 2016 graduate Justine Re won honorable mention in the major market radio feature category for “Bully Beware, There’s An App for That!”

The honors follow on the heels of WRHU’s recent win of 11 journalism awards from the Press Club of Long Island.

In all, 67 newspapers and broadcast stations from across the state submitted more than 1,150 entries in the Associated Press Association’s competition.  The awards were announced at a banquet on Saturday, June 4 in Saratoga Springs, NY.


Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News