Journalism Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Radio Student Life Top Stories WRHU

WRHU Wins 11 Awards from Press Club of Long Island 

Student staffers at the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication’s WRHU 88.7 FM Radio Hofstra University won almost a dozen honors, including best student news radio broadcast, at the Press Club of Long Island’s (PCLI) annual journalism awards dinner on June 2, 2016.  Faculty and several alumni, now working at professional media outlets throughout the region, were also honored for their work.

WRHU’s student journalists won awards in both professional and student radio categories including:

Arts & Entertainment: 

1st place – “Comic Con” by Chris Dane

Breaking News:

2nd place – “Winter Storm Juno” by Alyssa Duspiva, Joe Corbisiero, Tiffany Vellis, Joy Jones, Jazmine Gonzalez, Justine Re

News Story:

1st place – “Former Presidential Press Secretary Jay Carney Visit to Hofstra” by Bernie Dennler

2nd place – “Madeline Singas, Democrat on District Attorney Qualifications and the Issues” by Neil A. Carousso


2nd place – “Grass Roots Environmental Program” by Neil A. Carousso and WRHU community volunteer Basia


1st place – “A League of Our Own: Do You Know Your Breast Cancer Risk?” by Arielle Burton and WRHU community volunteer Fran Spencer

Feature Story:

1st place – “Bully Beware: There’s An App for That!” by Justine Re

2nd place – “Rees Specht Life” by Juliana Spano

Sports Reporting:

1st place – “Virtue and Valor: All-Star Lax Game Lives Up to Marine Standards” by Neil A. Carousso

2nd place – “Long Island Roller Rebels” by Juliana Spano

WRHU also won best student news radio broadcast for its daily “Newsline” program.

Briana Smith, a senior in the dual degree BA/MA journalism program, was earlier named the recipient of PCLI’s 2016 College Journalism Scholarship Award.

Alumni who also won awards include Vicky Whitaker’62, a former president of PCLI who was inducted into its 2016 Journalism Hall of Fame, as well as Tara Conry, Ann Parry, Jed Morey, and Rashed Mian.

Faculty winners include adjunct professors Scott Brinton, who won first place for commentary and third place for narrative in the Merrick Herald, and Chris Vaccaro, whose article in Rolling Stone placed second for sports feature writing.   Vaccaro, a 2007 alum, also serves as the current president of PCLI, which is one of the largest local chapters of the Society of Professional Journalists.

See the full list of winners.


Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News