DeMatteis School of Engineering and Applied Science Frank G. Zarb School of Business Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Hofstra Northwell School of Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies School of Health Professions and Human Services Top Stories Zucker School of Medicine at Hofstra/Northwell

Hofstra Gala Celebrates Toni ’63 and Martin Sosnoff and Teachers of the Year

This year’s 20th annual Hofstra University Gala on May 5, 2016, is honoring Toni ’63 and Martin Sosnoff and the 2015-16 Teachers of the Year. Teachers of the Year are selected by current, graduating students in each school.

The Sosnoffs have been actively engaged in various areas of personal interest, including medicine, education, animals and, especially, the performing and visual arts, particularly contemporary art. Toni Sosnoff earned a BA in drama from Hofstra University in 1963. Following in her footsteps, the Sosnoffs’ grandson Adam is a current Hofstra student.
hofstra_2016_homepageThe Sosnoffs recently moved from New York to Florida. There they are beginning outreach to institutions focused on the performing arts, such as the Palm Beach Opera, Chamber Music Society and the enchanting zoo. They are co-founders of the Martin and Toni Sosnoff Foundation, which supports medical research and education, among its charitable efforts. The Sosnoffs are active collectors of contemporary art and support museums and the performing arts in dance, theater and music. Their recent gift to Hofstra provides funding for the refurbishment of the theater in the John Cranford Adams Playhouse. In recognition of their generosity, the Toni and Martin Sosnoff Theater is named in their honor.

Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Gail Simmons has announced the following recipients of the Teacher of the Year award for each school or college:

Miriam Albert, JD, MBA, LLM, Professor of Skills, Maurice A. Deane School of Law

Martine Hackett, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Health Professions, School of Health Professions and Human Services

Wing C. Kwong, PhD, Professor, Department of Engineering, School of Engineering and Applied Science

Janet A. Lenaghan, DPS, Associate Professor, Department of Management and Entrepreneurship,  Frank G. Zarb School of Business

Mark S. L’Eplattenier, Assistant Professor, Department of Physician Assistant Studies, Hofstra Northwell School of Graduate Nursing and Physician Assistant Studies

Jeffrey S. Morosoff, Assistant Professor, Department of Journalism, Media Studies and Public Relations, Lawrence Herbert School of Communication

Ellen Pearlman, MD, Associate Dean for Advanced Clinical Learning, Assistant Professor of Medicine, Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine

Andrew Spieldenner, PhD, Assistant Professor, Department of Rhetoric, Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences

Joel N.H. Stern, PhD, Assistant Professor of Science Education and Neurology, Hofstra Northwell School of Medicine

Gloria L. Wilson, PhD, Professor, Department of Specialized Programs in Education, School of Education

In addition to the Hofstra Gala, the Teachers of the Year will be recognized at their respective commencement exercises in May.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News