Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Student Life Top Stories

Students at the Top of Their Class Receive Phi Beta Kappa Book Awards

Eight Hofstra students from Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences were honored at the 2014 Phi Beta Kappa Book (PBK) Awards. Each fall the Hofstra Chapter of Phi Beta Kappa selects a small number of promising sophomores, juniors, and seniors to honor at the Book Award Luncheon, which is sponsored by the Provost’s office and the Hofstra University Bookstore. Honorees earn a high GPA while taking broad and rigorous coursework in the liberal arts and sciences.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Ciana M. Desimini, psychology
  • Steven A. Eareckson, history and political science
  • Jacob V. Fruchtl, music major
  • Damian P. Gallagher, LEAP: political science
  • Denise J. LoMonaco, sociology
  • Julia C. Neto, dance
  • Daniel Simcha Slamowitz, computer science
  • Ludi Zhao-Orena, psychology

Hofstra University’s  chapter of Phi Beta Kappa is one of only 283 in the nation. It has been an institution on campus since 1973. PBK chapter officers are: President Daniel Seabold, Associate Professor of Mathematics; Vice-President Courtney Selby, Associate Dean for Information Services, Director of the Law Library; Secretary Sarah McCleskey, Head of Access Services, Film and Media; Treasurer Branka Kristic, Director for Parent and Family Programs; and Historian Deborah Dolan, Associate Professor of Reference and Collection Development.

Photo: (L to r) Ludi Zhao-Orena, Steven Eareckson, Denise LoMonaco, Damien Gallagher, Jacob Fruchtl, Daniel Slamowitz. Not pictured: Ciana Desimini, Julia Neto.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News