Journalism Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Media Studies Public Relations

Dept. of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations Earns Prestigious Reaccreditation

The Department of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations in the Lawrence Herbert School of Communication has been reaccredited by the Accrediting Council on Education in Journalism and Mass Communications (ACEJMC).

The honor, which is shared by an elite group of just 108 programs nationwide, recognizes Hofstra’s continued commitment to the highest standards of teaching and programming excellence. 

Awarded every six years, this is Hofstra’s third successive ACEJMC accreditation.

To achieve accreditation, Hofstra had to meet nine key standards including quality of curriculum and teaching, focus on research, commitment to diversity, and availability of resources.

As part of the process, the Department of Journalism, Media Studies and Public Relations underwent a rigorous external review by a team of nationally renowned academic peers and industry professionals who visited the campus.

The panel also evaluated the Department’s robust internship program and modern facilities including a digital multimedia newsroom, professional studios and editing suites, as well as the career success of well-placed alumni, among other factors.

In addition to the national and professional recognition that ACEJMC accreditation affords schools, it is also an important criterion in gaining funding for scholarships and research.  Employers hiring new graduates from accredited programs also know that these students have a solid educational foundation not only in their major of study but in the liberal arts and sciences as well.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News