Faculty Film Journalism Lawrence Herbert School of Communication Media Studies Public Relations Radio Social Media Television Top Stories WRHU

Communication Faculty Recognized for Excellence

Faculty members from Hofstra’s School of Communication have recently won several prestigious awards and honors which highlight their outstanding work in industries including journalism, television, radio, and public relations. “We at Hofstra’s School of Communication take pride in the way our faculty combine their teaching and scholarly pursuits with continued engagement with the wider world around them,” said Dean Evan Cornog, PhD. “This year, again, our faculty members have distinguished themselves in a number of areas, and we are glad to see them recognized outside our walls for their excellence in their fields.”

Recent honorees include:

• Kelly Fincham, Assistant Professor of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations, is the recipient of a 2013 social media grant from the Scripps Howard Foundation and the Association for the Education of Journalism and Mass Communications. The grant allows six journalism educators from across the country to spend two summer weeks at a newspaper or broadcast station, learning how the outlet uses social media across multiple platforms. Professor Fincham, who teaches advanced online journalism and founded Hofstra’s award-winning, student-run news site LongIslandReport.org, will be at KUT Radio in Austin, Texas.

 Dennis Mazzocco, PhD, Associate Professor of Radio, Television, Film and an Emmy-award winning director, has been re-elected to a fifth consecutive term on the Directors Guild of America National Board. He is the only tenured professor on the board, and Hofstra is the only university to have a DGA board member on its full-time faculty. Last year, he was the recipient of a top DGA award for outstanding career achievement and service.

• Ed Ingles, Professional-in-Residence at WRHU Radio Hofstra University, was honored with the Lincoln Werden Golf Journalism Award by the Metropolitan Golf Writers Association (MGWA) for outstanding contributions to golf journalism. The award is named for the first MGWA president who was a popular golf writer for the New York Times. Ingles was the sports director at WCBS Radio for 24 years, has covered 35 Masters and dozens of other major golf tournaments, and is the first radio journalist to win this award.

• Jeff Morosoff, Assistant Professor of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations, has been named the 2013 Mentor of the Year by the Public Relations Professionals of Long Island (PRPLI). He was nominated for the award by a former PRPLI president who cites him as her first mentor as well as by a former student who is now working in the public relations industry. Professor Morosoff has done public relations work for private companies, civic organizations, and town government, among other clients, and has served twice as president of PRPLI. He is also the program director for the new graduate program in public relations at Hofstra this fall.

• Kristal Brent Zook, PhD, Associate Professor of Journalism, Media Studies, and Public Relations, has won a first place award from the New York Association of Black Journalists for her August 2012 article in Essence magazine. Her feature, “Destroying Your Vote,” about states considering voter ID laws, won in the magazine category for best investigative report. A prolific writer and program director of the journalism graduate program at Hofstra, Professor Zook was also recently elected to the board of the Alicia Patterson Foundation in Washington D.C., which champions public-service journalism.

Hofstra in the News

More In The News
Hofviews - See More Photos

Hofstra Weather

° F
Heat Index ° F / Wind Chill ° F
Humidity %
Wind mph / Direction °
Rain in
See More from the Project WX Weather Stations

Recent Faculty News